NLP Academy Forums

Values elicitation/intervention NLP Academy style
Posted: 14 September 2011 05:53 PM   [ Ignore ]
Total Posts:  5
Joined  03-09-2011

I was going through the NLPedia Master Prac and enjoying the session on values.  Typically I see clients for weight loss and whilst I mainly use hypnotherapy but work over 4 sessions in a Gastric Band Hypnosis package and I build in some time to use NLP (I have a classic code Master Practitioner, doing the Academies Master Prac in Nov).

The values elicitation method looked pretty comprehensive.  ie:

Abstraction Check,
Syntax Check,
Motivation Direction check,
Unconcious check
Future pace.

How ever I was not clear on the best starting point as that wasn’t clear to me from the DVD’s.  The lady in the NLPedia looked at Health and her elicitation revolved around that.  Typically my clients will see me for weight loss, but this will be bundled up in a number of different issues so it may be that health, fitness or something else is the starting point. 

My working theory would be that I would start with a TOTE and ask the client what they want, perhaps do a simple values elicitation to chunk up and then use the result as the starting point.  Does anyone have any suggestions?

Having rewatched the episode I can see that when values are in conflict you start with something very all encompassing and then move on to more specific areas, however it would still be useful to know the approach for a given presenting issue to get the starting point to carry out a more comprehensive values elicitation etc.

[ Edited: 17 September 2011 09:06 PM by Damian ]
Want to join in with this discussion? Please Login or Register.
Posted: 14 October 2011 10:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Total Posts:  88
Joined  30-03-2010

Thanks for the post.

Just to give you a quick backdrop about the context of the value elicitation from the NLPedia.