NLP Academy Forums

Introducing Myself: Paul Harrison
Posted: 06 July 2010 03:12 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  12
Joined  30-06-2010

Hi folks… thought I’d follow the tradition here, and introduce myself, my “NLP Goals”, and background.

I’m sort of a “NLP old-timer” and “fresh NLP” person at the same time. My original certification was in “NLP New Code”, taught by Derek Balmer, in 1997 (NLP Canada, located in Toronto, Ontario- relatively close to where I work and live). I followed through with it until 2003, then life took some very strange turns for awhile and now in 2010 I’m back at it.

Professionally - I work in the computer field (self employed, consultant, fairly large range of skills). I took NLP originally for self-improvement, access to accelerated learning, few other things. Found it had a lot more to offer, and started exploring and growing the skills.

I have done some consulting using entirely NLP (ie, completely outside the computer field) assisting therapists in locating problem points in clients (mostly meta-model work, I’m quite talented at spotting and altering patterns and loops, in both computers and people). I’ve used the NLP skills for a lot of self-work, helping out friends and family, and I find hypnosis provides a nice complementary skill as well- extra tools for use as the occasion requires smile .

In 2010, I went back and got my Eriksonian Hypnosis certification (taught by Dr. Mike Mandel), went for a refresher of my NLP training, signed up for the “Trainer’s Training” (the July 2011 class, if I can manage it, 2012 worst case scenario), and started to review the NLPedia.

The seven year gap in my life where I was away from NLP (at least on the concious layer) gives a strange feeling of “jumping in time”, seeing NLP history suddenly unfold all at once.