NLP Academy Forums

Epistemology: Feed Forward and Feed Back Loops
Posted: 27 June 2010 05:12 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  14
Joined  22-09-2009

There are many lively discussions currently going on regarding what occurs epistemologically when the NCCF is vs. is not followed according to the four steps as listed in the book Whispering in The Wind pg 240. 

As a NC Trainer, my intention is to teach precise methodology (as a starting point) to my students.  Once I calibrate my students understand and can demonstrate they know how to apply the basics I like to introduce challenges and or invite them to experiment.  Before I venture into new terrain, for ecological purposes, I seek to improve my understanding of what I propose to my students.

For this stated purpose I am seeking *esoteric (not eclectic) feedback from others using NC for self application and with clients to help unpack a **concise linguistic description for what occurs in the epistemological cycle when the following situation occurs at step 3:

1.  The coach guides client through the NCCF (WITW pg 240)

2.  After step 4 is complete the coach calibrates the client has integrated the HPS into the context

3.  *** The Coach initiates a verbal discussion about what the client is feeling.

As a starting point, I share my thoughts on several possible epistemological descriptions as follows:

For the client to describe how they feel, the client will consciously either:

1. Access newly created FA representation (the HPS)
2. Feed forward through f2 transforms/filters
3. Create linguistic representation
4. Offer verbal description
or

1. Access existing f2 representations
2. Loop back to FA to access newly created FA representation (the HPS)
3. Loop forward to f2 and feed forward through f2 transforms/filters
4. Create linguistic representation
5. Offer verbal description

or

1. Access existing f2 representations
2. Loop back to FA to access newly created FA representation (the HPS)